What is CSCS?

CSCS is the leading skills certification scheme within the UK construction industry. CSCS cards provide proof that individuals working on construction sites have the required training and qualifications for the type of work they carry out. The Scheme keeps a database of people working in construction who have achieved or are committed to achieving a recognised construction related qualification.

Most principal contractors and major house builders require construction workers on their sites to hold a valid CSCS card.  For details on all CSCS Cards and how to get them, visit the CSCS website.

What card should a qualified single ply installer hold?

Every single ply installer should be carry the Level 2 blue Skilled Worker CSCS card. This means that the holder has achieved his or her specialist qualification (VQ at Level 2). Once this card has been approved, the cardholder need only renew it every five years by taking a touch-screen Health, Safety and Environment test, and paying the necessary admin fee.

Not got a Blue Skilled Worker card endorsed with Single Ply?

Go to the SPRA Courses page to find out more about how to get qualified and get carded.

Experienced Worker but no CSCS card?

Experienced single ply installers could access a special Experienced Worker CSCS card that lasts for 3 years by successfully completing a SPRA approved Manufacturer Basic Competency Programme (BCP). This route gives time for the operative to achieve the Level 2 NVQ as well as accessing manufacturer training (which could lead to becoming an Approved Installer for that Manufacturer). Please note that the BCP Experienced Worker Card is not yet listed separately on the CSCS site.

Trainee worker but no CSCS card?

A five-year Trainee CSCS card lasts for five years. It gives you plenty of time to complete a Specialist Applied Skills Programme (SAP) or Specialist Upskilling Programme (SUP) and achieve your Level 2 Single Ply Waterproofing NVQ.

Explore SPRA







Sign up for our newsletter